SAVE THE CAT! | A Rude Awakening

C O N F E S S I O N S • When I started reading Save the Cat! Writes a Novel, I was convinced it would change the way I looked at book plotting. I knew it would challenge my way of thinking and open my eyes to new ideas. What I didn’t expect was that by chapter 2, the book would slap me in the face.

My new novel is set in a new “world” with different characters. I have a kick-ass idea with an intriguing hook; that should’ve been enough to get me started, right??

I thought, “I’ll read this SAVE THE CAT! book and bada-bing bada boom, I’ll have a story.”

By chapter 2, however, I discovered I knew basically NOTHING about my new protagonist. She was only shell. I didn’t know what made her tick or the journey she needed to take. I had a premise but not a plot. (Cue waterworks.)

Knowing these things is pretty much a prerequisite to moving forward in plotting. So I immediately put the book down and had a pitty party.

Then, amazingly, out of the blue, my best friend called—and just when I thought the conversation was ending, she said, “Tell me about your new book!” Over the course of the next hour, she brainstormed with me, listened to me, and threw out some interesting ideas to consider. It was wildly unexpected and drastically changed my mood and mindset.

(“And the nominee for Best Friend of the Year Award goes to …”)

So now, after having gone back to SAVE THE CAT! and finishing it last month, it is time to begin plotting book 2. I’m terrified and excited, and hope I can pull this off!!

It’s been years since drafting something new, and everything in me thinks I’m crazy for doing it. But … “We’re all mad here” …

#savethecatwritesanovel #writingcommunity #wereallmadhere

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑